So I’ve been thinking a lot about my article, and I hadn’t felt particularly excited about any of my ideas until now. I’ve noticed an increasing trend on the Auckland SPCA Facebook page, they seem to have more cats and dogs up for adoption than usual, and many of the stories which accompany them have a theme. “Diddy’s owner had to relocate and was unable to take Diddy with her.” “Archie was abandoned by his previous owners.” “Dolce was surrendered to the SPCA because his owner could no longer take care of him.” 

This got me thinking… Pets are for life right? So why are so many pet owners giving up their fur babies? 

My boyfriend has been looking for a flat to rent for almost a year, but has been so far unsuccessful. His main issue is that every time he finds a place in the right location, for the right price he reads the fine print and sees “no smoking, no pets.” As if his fluffy white cat is going to permanently damage the house and leave it in an unfit condition for the renters after him. I think this is an issue in my neighbourhood that has had little attention and I’d like to pursue it further.

2 comments

  1. Can only find the one post related to PoJ, Sarah, or am I not looking in the right place… and wondered where you were at with your story idea? The SPCA gets plenty of coverage and are reluctant to talk to students, so please discuss with me before you continue with that idea… Any reflections on the interviewing lecture or reading?

    1. Hi Lyn, this is not my journalism blog, I’ve been having issues with WordPress redirecting me to this one as it is my old blog which I used in high school. I have republished this post on the correct site which is: sarahbodsjournalismblog.wordpress.com

Leave a comment